The South Shore

Released on March 8, 2015 via Xi Records

The South Shore features chamber works composed by Michael Vincent Waller from (2011-2014) performed by the following twenty-five musicians, including Christine Kim and Pauline Kim Harris (Project SiS) with Conrad Harris, Daniel Panner, Charity Wicks; Dedalus Ensemble with Didier Aschour, Amélie Berson, Cyprien Busolini, Thierry Madiot, Pierre Stéphane Meugé, Deborah Walker; 20<21 Ensemble with Yael Manor, Itay Lantner, Erin Wight, Clara Kennedy, and Jessica Park; Nicolas Horvath; Esther Noh; Carson Cooman; Katie Porter and Devin Maxwell (Red Desert); Luna Cholong Kang; Marija Ilic.

Available On

“…introducing a rhetoric of stillness (not to be confused with John Cage’s attention to silence), a rhetoric that Eno would continue to explore beyond the life of [his Obscure] label. In the selections chosen for The South Shore, Waller seems to be taking up the torch of that particular rhetorical stance, applying it to a wide diversity of sonorities by combining different assortments of instruments in chamber music settings.”

-Stephen Smoliar

“…quiet, lyrical expressions and subdued meditation. Waller’s unhurried and gentle music is well-suited to introspection. Waller belongs to the generation of postminimalist composers who have absorbed the techniques of the avant-garde, yet he has moved on to find fresh resources in the use of Greek modes, traditional counterpoint, and the influences of impressionism, gamelan, and pandiatonicism.”

-All Music, Blair Sanderson ★★★★


Compositions by Michael Vincent Waller
Produced by Michael Vincent Waller, Ryan Streber, Christine Kim
Mixed/Mastered by Ryan Streber
Recorded by Ryan Streber, Nikolas Samaltanos, Dongjin Lee, Devin Maxwell, Lawrence de Martin, Justin Frye.
Musicians/Ensembles: Christine Kim, Pauline Kim-Harris, Conrad Harris, Daniel Panner, Marija Ilic, Nicolas Horvath, Yael Manor, Charity Wicks, Carson Cooman, Esther Noh, Katie Porter, Devin Maxwell, Luna Cholong Kang, Dedalus Ensemble, 20>>21 Ensemble, Project SiS, Red Desert.
Album Cover and Tray Photography by Phill Niblock © (Japan, 1989)
Album Design by Van Jazmin
Piano Hamburg Steinway D prepared by Arlan Harris, tuned by Dan Jessie, Fazoli Grand Piano, Model No: 2780649, Organ Marcussen & Son, 1973 (Laurenskerk, Rotterdam), Virtual model by Jiri Zurek, 2012


POP MATTERS John Garratt

THE WIRE Julian Cowley

CD HOT LIST Rick Andersen


ALLMUSIC Blair Sanderson


NEW MUSIC BUFF Allan J. Cronin